Town Council

The Town Council is the governing body of the municipal corporation and the custodian of its powers, both legislative and administrative. It is a continuing body; not withstanding changes in membership by election or appointment. Council develops policies, adopts bylaws or resolutions based on these policies and then ensures that they are executed by its administrative staff.

The Community Charter provides that councils can only exercise the powers of the municipal corporation either by bylaw or resolution passed at regular or special meeting when a quorum is present.

It is important to note that individual members of council cannot make a valid and binding decision on behalf of council, even though they may be aware that there may be unanimous agreement. They must give a collective judgement as a group at a properly convened meeting. Councils may not grant special privileges to individuals or corporations unless the Community Charter specifically allows them to do so. Some types of tax exemptions are allowed under the Community Charter.

Meetings and Elections

The regular meetings of Council are generally held on the fourth Tuesday of each month except on holidays or on days as approved by Council. The citizens of the Town of Lake Cowichan elect their Mayor and four Councillors every four years

Council Members

Mayor Tim McGonigle

Tim McGonigle


Councillor Carolyne Austin

Carolyne Austin


Councillor Aaron Frisby

Aaron Frisby


Councillor Kristine Sandhu

Kristine Sandhu


Councillor Lorna Vomacka

Lorna Vomacka